FlashCut

FlashCut vs AutoEdit for Premiere Pro: which fits your workflow?

Short answer

AutoEdit and FlashCut both read your transcripts in Premiere Pro. AutoEdit, per its homepage, uses Claude to remove silences, fillers, bad takes and repeats and builds a reviewable rough cut. FlashCut’s panel instead proposes several narratives from the whole shoot, builds the sequence in Premiere from the soundbites you choose, and lets clients review the story first.

Get started freeFree tier: 1 hour of footage every 14 days.

Side by side

Availability: FlashCut’s Premiere Pro panel (Premiere Pro 25.6 or later) is being released in stages; the FlashCut web app and its Premiere Pro XML hand-off work today. Where this page describes the panel, it describes what the panel does.

Products below are described only as their own pages state them. “Not described” means the page does not mention it, not that the feature is absent. AutoEdit details are from its homepage (autoeditai.net) and its Product Hunt page, read on 21 October 2026.

Side by side
FeatureFlashCut (Premiere Pro panel)AutoEdit (per its own pages)
What it buildsSeveral narratives from one shoot, each with 90, 60 and 30-second versions; the sequence is built in Premiere from the soundbites you chooseA reviewable rough cut: removes silences, fillers, bad takes and repeats; also music-video, event-recap and podcast multicam modes
Works inPremiere Pro 25.6 or later, plus the FlashCut web appPremiere Pro on Windows and macOS, as a panel; a DaVinci Resolve plugin is planned with no date, per its maker on Product Hunt
Transcript understandingTranscribes, labels speakers and finds soundbites across all clipsUses Claude to read the transcript
Client reviewPassword-protected link; clients react to soundbites and heart a narrative (Pro and Studio)Not described; it offers a review page for its own edits
Chat editingChat editing in the FlashCut web editorChat Edit turns, limited per month on paid plans
Where footage is processedFlashCut’s cloud: the panel uploads a 720p proxy of each clip you send; your original files stay on your driveIts homepage says “no web uploading”; its maker said on Product Hunt that footage is processed in the cloud
Free option1 hour of footage and 1 video export per 14 days$0 plan with 7 free tools and no AI editing; a free trial exists, length not stated
Pricing model$29, $69 or $199 a month for 4, 10 or 30 hours of footageLite $9.99, Creator $24.36 and Pro $79 a month at list price, with limits in Claude hours, transcription hours and Chat Edit turns

Where they differ

The tools start from the same place, a transcript inside Premiere Pro, and then go different ways. AutoEdit’s unit of work is the edit: it assembles one cleaned-up rough cut that you review and adjust, with controls for how tightly it cuts. Its homepage is candid that it will not produce a perfect final video and may cut sentences you would keep.

FlashCut’s unit of work is the story. It looks across every clip you send, proposes several narratives, and lets you reorder and swap soundbites before the sequence exists. The shared narrative page lets a client pick a direction first. That suits interview-heavy projects where the question is which story to tell, rather than how to tighten one.

FlashCut’s Premiere Pro panel (Premiere Pro 25.6 or later) is being released in stages; the web app and its Premiere Pro XML hand-off work today. Where this page describes the panel, it describes what it does, not that every account has it yet.

Cloud processing, stated plainly

FlashCut processes footage in its cloud. On AutoEdit, two statements disagree: its homepage says “no web uploading”, while its maker wrote on Product Hunt that footage is processed in the cloud and advised against using it for NDA client work. We have not tested which is current; read its terms before relying on either.

For FlashCut, the panel renders a 720p proxy of each clip you choose and uploads it to FlashCut for transcription and analysis; your original files stay on your drive and the hand-off references them. Check our privacy policy and your client agreements before sending sensitive footage.

Choose FlashCut if

  • You need to compare several story directions from one shoot, not refine a single rough cut.
  • Your client should choose the story from a shareable, password-protected review before the detailed edit.
  • You want 90, 60 and 30-second versions of each narrative.
  • You prefer a price based on hours of footage over Claude-hour and chat-turn limits.
FlashCut Narrative Discovery board: narrative tiles with 90, 60 and 30 second tabs and a Share with client button
One interview: six narratives, each in 90, 60 and 30 seconds.
Get started freeFree tier: 1 hour of footage every 14 days.

Choose AutoEdit if

  • You want one automated pass that removes silences, fillers, bad takes and repeats from a single sequence.
  • You want its music-video, event-recap or podcast multicam modes, or its free tools.
  • A monthly price from $9.99 (list) with a free tier fits how much you edit.

Who should not choose FlashCut

If you want an automatic cleanup pass on one talking-head sequence, AutoEdit is built for that and FlashCut’s panel is not. If you finish in DaVinci Resolve or Avid, note that FlashCut does not export to Avid or DaVinci Resolve (and, per a Product Hunt comment by its maker, AutoEdit’s Resolve plugin is planned with no date).

Pricing, compared

FlashCut’s free tier covers 1 hour of footage and 1 video export per 14 days. Starter is $29 a month for 4 hours, Pro is $69 for 10 hours and Studio is $199 for 30 hours; footage past a paid plan’s cap is billed at $11.99 per analyzed hour. Client review links are on Pro and Studio.

AutoEdit’s homepage, as of 21 October 2026, lists a $0 plan with seven free tools and no AI editing; Lite at $9.99 a month list ($7.99 on an annual plan) with 5 hours of Claude processing; Creator at $24.36 a month list ($14.70 annual after a first-year discount) with 20 hours and 100 Chat Edit turns a month; Pro at $79 a month list ($63.99 annual) with 60 hours and 250 turns; and Business at $145.27 a month billed annually. Its overage policy is not stated, and it discounts heavily, so confirm the current price on its site.

How this comparison was made

We read AutoEdit’s public homepage and its Product Hunt page on 21 October 2026 and report only what they state. We did not test AutoEdit. Its domain is autoeditai.net. Products change; check the sources below. If something here is out of date, email team@flashcut.dev and we will correct it.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between FlashCut and AutoEdit?

Both work from transcripts in Premiere Pro. AutoEdit builds one cleaned-up rough cut, removing silences, fillers and repeats. FlashCut proposes several narratives across the whole shoot, builds the sequence from the soundbites you choose, and offers password-protected client review of the story before you cut.

Does FlashCut upload my footage, and how does that compare with AutoEdit?

Yes. FlashCut processes footage in its cloud: the panel uploads a 720p proxy of each clip you send, and your originals stay on your drive. On AutoEdit, its homepage says “no web uploading” while its maker wrote on Product Hunt that footage is processed in the cloud.

Is FlashCut cheaper than AutoEdit?

It depends on usage. FlashCut has a free tier of 1 hour of footage per 14 days, then $29, $69 or $199 a month for 4, 10 or 30 hours. AutoEdit lists a $0 plan, then Lite from $9.99 a month, with limits in Claude hours and chat turns.

Can I use FlashCut and AutoEdit together in Premiere Pro?

Nothing stops you from using both, since each works on your Premiere sequence. A common split is to choose the story and soundbites with FlashCut, then run a cleanup pass on the resulting sequence with another tool. We have not tested the combination.

Sources

Try FlashCut on your own footage

The free tier includes 1 hour of footage and 1 video export every 14 days.

Get started free